Starkey Hearing Aids – Overview and User Reviews

Expert Rating Score
Overall
Features
Feedback Suppression
Aesthetics
Cost
VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
User Score:
742 votes
2.5

Starkey Laboratories has been producing high-quality, American-made hearing aid products for over 50 years. This innovative company has been a world leader in hearing aids since the company’s inception. They were the first to produce an In-Canal hearing aid, the first to utilize nanotechnology in their hearing aids, the first to produce waterproof hearing aids, and incorporate touch technology and wireless technology in their hearing aids. The company still seeks further innovations from patients and practitioners to ensure that they are producing the most helpful hearing aids possible. Since the beginning, Starkey Laboratories has always claimed that “Hearing is our concern.”

The company is so committed to that claim that in 1984, William F. Austin began the Starkey Hearing Foundation, a non-profit organization whose goal was to bring understanding among people about hearing care by focusing on awareness, education, protection, and treatment, so the world may hear. This volunteer-sustained organization delivers more than 50,000 hearing aids, in over 100 hearing missions, each year, to those in the United States, and across the globe. The organization is comprised of several programs. Sound Matters raises social awareness of healthy hearing, prevention of hearing damage, and the importance of regular hearing checkups. Hearing Angel’s primary goal is to deliver hearing to those who cannot. This involves delivering hundreds of thousands of hearing aids to those who may otherwise have remained hearing impaired his or her entire life. Hear Now assists those permanently residing in the United States who have no resources to acquire a hearing aid.

The Starkey company provides a wide variety of hearing aid products, each with their own individual technologies. These include: the S Series iQ, the X Series, the Xino, and the Wi Series.

Starkey S Series iQ Hearing Aids

The S Series iQ hearing aids are designed to hold speech volume up, while pulling background noise down. This means that the user will hear less wind and other background sounds, and more of his or her friends and family. This hearing aid features the following technology:

  • Voice iQ2: A noise reduction and speech preservation system that enhances sound quality and ease of listening, particularly when it is noisy.
  • PureWave Feedback Eliminator: Eliminates almost all buzzing and whistling in the hearing aid.
  • Advanced Hydrashield: Makes the hearing aid resistant to water, wax, oils, sweat, humidity, and corrosion.
  • Sweep Technology: Allows for easy adjustment of memory or volume with just the touch of a finger.
  • T2 Remote Control: Allows for memory or volume adjustment via any touch tone telephone.
  • Music and Television Processing: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable music and television listening.
  • Automatic Telephone Solutions: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable telephone conversations, while also eliminating feedback.
  • Intuitive Features: Vocal and tonal indicators tell the user the status of the hearing aid, and the hearing aid battery.

Starkey provides hearing aids with S Series iQ technology in the following styles: Behind the Ear (BTE), Receiver in Canal (RIC), Invisible-in-the-Canal (IIC), Completely-in-Canal (CIC), In-The-Canal (ITC), and In-The-Ear (ITE).

    

BTE                                       RIC                       IIC

    

CIC                                         ITC                       ITE

 

Starkey X Series Hearing Aids

The X Series hearing aids are sleek and modern in their appearance, while also providing numerous innovative technologies. This series features:

  • Voice iQ2: A noise reduction and speech preservation system that enhances sound quality and ease of listening, particularly when it is noisy.
  • PureWave Feedback Eliminator: Eliminates almost all buzzing and whistling in the hearing aid.
  • InVision Directionality: This pinpoints desired sounds, and eliminates the unwanted ones, so users can focus on what is really important.
  • Automatic Telephone Solutions: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable telephone conversations, while also eliminating feedback.
  • Music and Television Processing: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable music and television listening.
  • T2 Remote Control: Allows for memory or volume adjustment via any touch tone telephone.
  • Hydrashield: Makes the hearing aid resistant to water, wax, oils, sweat, humidity, and corrosion.
  • Sweep Technology: Allows for easy adjustment of memory or volume with just the touch of a finger.
  • Spectral iQ: This replicates hard to hear high frequency sounds in lower frequencies, which enhances and expands the hearing aid’s audibility.
  • Self-Learning Technology: The hearing aid gradually and automatically learns the user’s volume control preferences, requiring less manual adjustments.
  • Intuitive features: Vocal and tonal indicators tell the user the status of the hearing aid, and the hearing aid battery.

Starkey Laboratories makes hearing aids with X Series Technology in Behind the Ear (BTE), Receiver in Canal (REC), Invisible-in-the-Canal (IIC), Completely-in-Canal (CIC), In-The-Canal (ITC), and In-The-Ear (ITE) styles.

Starkey Xino Hering Aids

The Xino is a mini Receiver-in-Canal (RIC) hearing aid with a longer-lasting 10A battery, and configurable user control. It features:

  • PureWave Feedback Eliminator: Eliminates almost all buzzing and whistling in the hearing aid.
  • Voice iQ2: A noise reduction and speech preservation system that enhances sound quality and ease of listening, particularly when it is noisy.
  • InVision Directionality: This pinpoints desired sounds, and eliminates the unwanted ones, so users can focus on what is really important.
  • Automatic Telephone Response: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable telephone conversations, while also eliminating feedback.
  • Music and Television Processing: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable music and television listening.
  • Hydrashield: Makes the hearing aid resistant to water, wax, oils, sweat, humidity, and corrosion.
  • Spectral iQ: This replicates hard to hear high frequency sounds in lower frequencies, which enhances and expands the hearing aid’s audibility.
  • Self-Learning Technology: The hearing aid gradually and automatically learns the user’s volume control preferences, requiring less manual adjustments.
  • Intuitive Features: Vocal and tonal indicators tell the user the status of the hearing aid, and the hearing aid battery.

Starkey Wi Series 

The Wi Series is Starkey Laboratories’ most advanced, wireless hearing aid series. This series enhances speech clarity in noisy environments, and can also wirelessly stream television or music directly from the user’s television, radio, or computer into the hearing aid through SurfLink Media. This series features the following technology:

  • PureWave Feedback Eliminator: Eliminates almost all buzzing and whistling in the hearing aid.
  • Voice iQ2: A noise reduction and speech preservation system that enhances sound quality and ease of listening, particularly when it is noisy.
  • InVision Directionality: This pinpoints desired sounds, and eliminates the unwanted ones, so users can focus on what is really important.
  • Automatic Telephone Response: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable telephone conversations, while also eliminating feedback.
  • Music and Television Processing: Automatically adjusts its settings for the user’s most comfortable music and television listening.
  • Hydrashield: Makes the hearing aid resistant to water, wax, oils, sweat, humidity, and corrosion.
  • Sweep Technology: Allows for easy adjustment of memory or volume with just the touch of a finger.
  • Spectral iQ: This replicates hard to hear high frequency sounds in lower frequencies, which enhances and expands the hearing aid’s audibility.
  • Self-Learning Technology: The hearing aid gradually and automatically learns the user’s volume control preferences, requiring less manual adjustments.
  • Intuitive Features: Vocal and tonal indicators tell the user the status of the hearing aid, and the hearing aid battery.
  • Ear-to-Ear Wireless Communication: Coordinates communication between hearing aids, which eliminates the need to adjust multiple devices.

Wi Series Technology is available in Receiver-In-Canal (RIC), Completely-In-Canal (CAC), In-The-Canal (ITC), In-The-Ear (ITE) styles.

Starkey Hearing Aids - Overview and User Reviews , 2.5 out of 5 based on 742 ratings

Join The Conversation

104 Comments

  1. carlos parra
    11 Jul 2009, 6:29 pm

    I hope you can help me. I need for my mother who is 84 years old, two digital hearing aids, one left, and one rigth . Type DESTINY 400 DIGITAL. I would like to know how much will cost.
    Thanks you
    Carlos Parra

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
    • Henry Ryan
      20 Nov 2012, 9:19 am

      I won’t buy Starkey again. I bought two in the canal aids at $2400.00 ea. A If you lose one during the warranty period they charge a molding fee of $165.00. The aids at Costco are $1000.00 less each and if you lose one in warranty there is’t any fee. The Starkey aids don’t work well if there is back-round noise.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 12 votes)
  2. B.G.Mercer
    08 Sep 2009, 11:51 am

    I would like to know what model & specification of Starkey Digital Hearing Aid is supplied in the Ultimate Listening Range at Specsavers. As a model Imagine was mentioned, but am unable to find one on the internet. Would this be in the New S series Range 7 to 11. I understand that Specsavers source Digital Hearing Aids direct from Starkey without having them custom built as other manufactures do for Specsavers. Hence I would like to know what Starkey Digital Aid is supplied for the price of £1,895 a pair.
    Many Thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Margaret
      04 Feb 2012, 11:47 am

      Hello -did you ever get an answer to this?? I’d be very interested to know, now looking at exactly the same thing myself. Many thanks.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  3. bob
    08 Oct 2009, 5:46 pm

    I purchased the Starkey S series 5, worst decision of my life, I feel like I threw away 2650.00, less than 60 days old already defective, and no solution in sight. I am looking for replacements maybe the Siemens Pure 700 series.

    Don’t buy Starkey S Series

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
    • Roberta Cohan
      21 Jun 2011, 1:02 pm

      Bob,
      You got off cheap. I spent $5,000 and my husband now has crap…..we even sent them to Starkey to fix and still problems. Over priced and not worth the money. If I don’t get some satisfaction soon I’m going to personally return them to Starkey for my money back and tell them exactly what they can do with this trash.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 8 votes)
      • terry jones
        03 Nov 2011, 6:19 am

        did you get your money back?

        If you did please tell me how

        If I was in the States I would take them to court for miss selling,but I am in Asia and there is no way you can do that here

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
      • ed
        20 Dec 2011, 2:23 pm

        trash huh well roberta did you ever think it may be the idiot programming these aids?? im going to let u in on a little secret not all hearing aid specialists are fair. heck ive heard of some not even taking the time to send then in or trying to fix them themselves. you need to contact starkey direct there is serial numbers on your aids give them the numbers and they can tell you if they have been sent in or even if the numbers match your husbands name. do your research before you trash talk remember the product is only as good as the person selling them..

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: +6 (from 10 votes)
  4. Mr A. Macsween
    12 Oct 2009, 3:40 pm

    I am in the process of replacing my present
    CIC hearing aids (dual aids).
    I have severe hearing loss in both ears and in relation to this I have now exhausted my search for compatable CIC aids.
    I understand from a dispenser that the Starkey S-Series 11 may be my best option and since my hearing loss is mostly in the high frequency range,I would be obliged if you mail me a graph indicating the range of these (or your best) aids.
    Many thanks.—– Angus Macsween.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  5. folashayo
    14 Oct 2009, 5:28 am

    I bought two behind the ear for my daughter which order by audiologist two years ago but I have not seen the effect.please what should I do next

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  6. GarJoe
    03 Nov 2009, 4:32 pm

    The Starkey S series has been one of the best aids I have ever worn. I don’t understand why someone would put a comment that they threw away money. I think many people believe that as soon as you put a hearing aid on, the problem is solved which is totally not true. There are many factors that come with having a great experience with hearing aids. Firstly, never forget that they are AIDS, not your natural ear. Second, they are electronic devices and we hearing aid wearers tend to take them for granted and beat them up pretty bad, even if we’ve only had them for a week or two. Thirdly, you dispenser plays probably the most critical part in this experience. They need to have a very good concept of how to fit a hearing aid, which includes knowing compression, channels, bands, and all the other fitting tools that come in the software. So saying that any brand or model hearing aid is garbage is really not an objective opinion. Have clear expectations, take care of them, and have a knowledgable dispenser fit them on you and you will be a very happy wearer.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +13 (from 23 votes)
    • ed
      20 Dec 2011, 2:14 pm

      it has alot to do with the person fitting the product than it does with the product..

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +6 (from 8 votes)
      • Ron
        27 Sep 2013, 10:01 pm

        No doubt about it and try to get somebody to make a good correction on one if they didn’t sell it to you. Not going to happen. They will tell you all about a better one that just came out.

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  7. BERT
    23 Nov 2009, 11:37 am

    I have had 4 sets of hearing aid from starkey for the last 14 years and these zon are the worst i have ever had work for one month and into be repaired and then the other one goes out, are they all defective or just not up to par from the old ones, i am totally unsatisfied, i have other things to do other than run back and forth to the audiolgist

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
    • Mlm
      22 Jan 2013, 1:10 pm

      I have worn Starkey for over 20 years – never ever have I had to send them back for repairs or anything – replaced a few over the years due to my own stupiditiy – but these are DEFECTIVE!! I bought 2 in November and I have had each one in twice for repairs already — this last time they “gutted” them and started over. Hopefully this will fix things. Having worn hearing aides for my whole life (47 years) I have tons of experience with them. I am not rough or anything on them and have NO idea what is going on with Starkey’s quality of the product. Even my audiologist is dismayed. He is highly trained and a professor – truly trustworthy. Has anyone else had this issue?

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  8. Ernst
    30 Nov 2009, 7:29 am

    I purchased the Starkey S-5 RIC hearing aids
    five months ago, and I’m very dissapointed
    in the performance. First of all, one had to be sent in already twice for repair. I still have problems to hear with existing background noise levels, especially in restaurants, or family gatherings.
    I do not recommend this product.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
    • ed
      20 Dec 2011, 2:11 pm

      s-5 ric is not the best starkey has.sounds like a money issue on your part.remember you get what u pay for.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
      • Debo
        19 May 2012, 2:21 pm

        Ed, it’s clear that you either work for Starkey or sell them. How about some full disclosure on your posts. When I read your replies to these clearly dissatisfied people it feels like you’re attacking them or their audiologist… That attitude is not going to win you any friends or customers…

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: +7 (from 13 votes)
        • Jon
          13 Dec 2012, 5:45 pm

          I have been wearing Starkey aids for about 8 years now and have NO problems with quality or fitment. I have had other brands (which I won’t mention) that came nowhere near the quality of the Starkey. I have had both in the canal and behind the ear with no problems from either. In my own personal opinion, Starkey is out in front with thier hearing aids.

          VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
          Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  9. NKB
    30 Nov 2009, 9:06 am

    I would like to buy the RIC absolute power HA for my self. I live in India and have severe hearing impairment in both the ears.

    Can you please let me know the cost of :-

    # S series 11 down to 7 please (in Indian Rupees of course)
    # Being a Senior Citizen (i’m 67 years)and being a retired Air Force officer, do I get any discount? I am aware of the outlets of this product in the city I live.
    Thank you,
    Sincerely,
    NKB

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
    • joeteller
      13 Nov 2013, 2:18 pm

      As a veteran you are eligible for free Audiology services including hearing aids and other assistive devices through your VA Health Care Center. They provide top of the line products and good service.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -3 (from 3 votes)
  10. Frank
    16 Dec 2009, 11:09 am

    I have had problems with the Stary RIC aids also. They used to be a fantastic company, but a lot of their aids break now.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  11. Fred Gavin
    16 Jan 2010, 5:55 am

    My Destiny 1200 CICs no longer do the job. I have good insurance and respectable income so cost is not of concern. I just want the technically best instrument and have difficulty diferentiating the “marketing” to get a retail sale by the audi versus the technically best.

    My Starkey audiologist is suggesting the Series 11 BTE with tel-coil rather than the Series 11 power RIC. I don’t like the size of the BTE, but do like here almost invisible clear custom mold to that of Phonak Smart IX.

    I demo the Phonak YES IX and seemed fine – they didn’t have a SMART IX. If I go Phonak it will be SMART IX with power custom mold RIC or Phonak Exellia ART with tel-coil.

    I would appreciate your candid advice on thes each $6,000 per pair aids. Should I waite to see what the National Spring Audiology convention brings out in a few months?

    Thanks,

    Fred

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  12. Susan H
    17 Jan 2010, 8:32 pm

    I am presently using the Widex Senso, and this seems to has outgrown my hearing loss. Am thinking of getting another aid but don’t know which brand to use. Had been using Widex hearing aids all the while. Had used Phonax before, but it just does not suits me.

    I have very serious hearing loss, even with this present Widex Senso, it doesn’t help me now.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  13. Mr F
    21 Jan 2010, 3:33 pm

    The majority of hearing aids that are received for repair are actually just blocked with ear wax and not faulty products. (As ear wax is trying to clean the meatus of debris – including the aid!) Regular cleaning of the wax protection should save trips back to the dispenser! And as GarJoe rightly put it, have a knowledgable dispenser fit them on you and you will be a very happy wearer.
    Oh and B.G.Mercer Starkey do custom build all aids.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  14. bill b
    03 Feb 2010, 9:46 am

    Purchased Starkey S-5 hearing aids in December. So far they are garbage. One has been back 3 times, constantly has feedback as soon as it is in. the other one cannot be used with phone. Now after 3 times back they took new ear molds and are going to have them remade. Starkey advertises no feedback but the left ear is constant feedback as soon as they put it in, the audioligist hears it as soon as she puts it in. starkey also avertises you can talk on phone with no feedback. That is also wrong I have to take it out to answer the phone. Just hoping the remake works as I already paid for them. Had 30 trial plus 60 days by Hear of PA. so far Starkey has these longer than I did. Just hope it was all in the fitting. My 60 days are not up yet so I can turn them back for my money. Like to know which hearing aids are good. these Starkeys were supposed to be very good, so far they stink.
    Bill

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
    • Mlm
      22 Jan 2013, 1:12 pm

      does your aide have an air hole? I had them add one to mine. Feedback was terrible until that was done.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  15. Arthur
    19 Feb 2010, 7:31 pm

    I also had a negative experience with Starkey in-the-ear hearing aids. In my case, feedback wasn’t an issue, but the quality of my own voice was horrible and robotic, I found that the overall sound quality was not good, and it had annoying features (turns off when you use the telephone or headphones, etc.). I tried them for 30 days and absolutely hated them. My first pair were Siemens, and they were great and lasted 5 years. I am currently using Unitrons and they are great, better fit than the Siemens (without the feedback), easier to clean and very good sound.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  16. chris
    22 Feb 2010, 7:31 am

    I am wearing the starky 5 series right now. I’m on a 30 day trial right now! it is my first hearing aid ever. i only need one for my left ear. I am having a hard time with the price for one thing, I am new to this and i would appreciate any help in make a good choice in product. this is not an easy decision for me as price plays into along with other factors. I do notice the differences of wearing it and not but how do i now what i need vs. what someone just wants to sell me. like cars there are all kinds of makes and models. I would love to drive a fancy sports car but do i need a fancy sports car or can i afford one!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. Jeff
    04 Mar 2010, 11:01 am

    It seems to me that you may have gone to an audiologist that isn’t well trained in the Starkey product. I am a licensed dispenser in Ky and I fit 99% Starkey products. I hate to hear that someone isn’t happy with their Starkey hearing aids. You can go online to Starkey.com and look for a “Starkey Hearing Alliance” member. These are the most up-to-date hearing professionals in your area. They are highly trained and qualified to fit Starkey hearing aids. We also have the ability to attach your hearing aids to our computer system and go online with a Starkey Factory Technician to actually take over and fit the hearing aids. This is all FREE of charge. Don’t give up !! Starkey is by far the BEST on the market. I have fit hearing aids for over 30 years. I know hearing aids. I have fit many brands but you will never beat Starkey. I have fit PROFOUND hearin losses woth Starkey S Series OTEs and absolutely NO FEEDBACK. Find a better qualified professional. Don’t give up yet.

    Good Luck

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  18. bill b
    23 Mar 2010, 4:16 am

    Just was at audiooligt yesterday again with these S series 5. Starkey extended my trial period because they had them more then me. They remade them, still have many problems. Cannot use them on phone, some phones work, most do not. I’ve been connected to factory techs many times still does not solve problems. Now they want me to send them back for re-evaluation. Decided to try Octicon before my time runs out with Starkey. Had one Octigon before never had a problem. The road noise on the Starkeys is terrible. When driving cannot hear anyone in car talking. Rode motorcycle over the weekend and amazingly no noise, only in car. Maybe I should replace car, but it is a 2009. Audiologist is also trying to get Starkey to upgrade to S-9. Hope something works been going on since November.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  19. a s chandna
    23 Mar 2010, 6:45 pm

    Iam senior citizen age 74 yrs and suffering from severe hearig loss in both ears.I am living in JAIPUR city in INDIA.
    I would like to know the price of STARKEY S 11 HEARING AID latest model.
    I am reading adverse comments about S SERIES 5.DO I too have to face similar problem with S 11
    PLEASE direct me to Dealar/Audiologist who can arrange S 11 on tril basis .
    chandna

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. memo
    03 Apr 2010, 2:00 am

    I will try Starkey eharing aids soon. I hope they will work for me hearing loss and bad speech discrimination.
    I will get CIC S 9.

    For those who are in India and want more info about Starkey products, go to http://starkeyindia.com/

    I advice anyone who wants to buyt these products to only do throught the authorized Centers. If you have problem with the aids, pick your telephone and call Starkey main office. You should solve your issues this way better.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. Frank Bunyan
    11 Apr 2010, 6:33 am

    I have a Starkey hearing aid. I am a senior and find it very expensive to take it to a local place and them send it to Starkey’s to be repaired. Can I send it direct to Starkey’s myself if I need to?
    please reply, Frank

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  22. bill b
    26 Apr 2010, 4:34 am

    Back to auioligist many times with s-5. Still loud road noise. Was hooked up many times to starky audiologist still not right.
    Tried octicon, didn’t even take these home, voice was muffled, not as clear as Starkey. Starkey coming out with something new for noise in May. Will try the s-9 series in middle of May when they come out. Will cost me $200 more per ear,but if they work better well worth it. The s-9′s have 12 channels instead fo 6. maybe better suited for me.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. zee
    26 May 2010, 10:06 am

    I’m trying to decide between a Starkey Series 5 and a Starkey Series 3. There seem to be a number of comments on problems with Series 5. Anyone try the Series 3?

    Thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  24. Mary T
    28 May 2010, 9:25 am

    Does anyone have any comments about the Starkey Series 3 hearing aids?
    Thanks

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  25. Mary T
    28 May 2010, 9:52 am

    Does anyone have any comments about the Starkey E Series 3 hearing aids?

    Thanks

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
    • Ric
      16 Sep 2011, 7:40 am

      I have the Starkey Series E RIC for about three months now. Not happy with them. They clog up too easily and always have to go back to the audiologist where they will use their vacuum device to clean them out. I do clean them as instructed every night. Once, it stopped working altogether and they had to send it back for replacement. These hearing aids suck in my opinion.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. Jo Kay
    21 Jun 2010, 12:09 pm

    I am currently being fitted for Starkey S Series5, I’m not getting along AT ALL with them. They aren’t “fitted” properly, they really hurt my ears being in. My voice as well as the people around me “echo” something terrible. I’m not having a pleasant experience trying to get these things to work comfotably and fix my hearing loss problem, which isn’t real bad anyway but “they” feel I need them. It’s a lot of money and trips to the audiologist, which is 2 hours away, for them not to be better.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. Norman Schreiber
    14 Oct 2010, 6:22 am

    I purchased the new Starkey S series
    cic hearing aids in April 2010.I have previously had six other sets of hearing aids incl.cic and bte types. I liked these very much at first because they were close to the ear drum and quite powerfull for their size.However in the 5 months that I have worn them they have had tor be returned to the factory 4or5 times. they replaced the mike and speaker numerous times and they make the comment that they were clogged with wax.I have had my ears checked for wax by both my Dr. and audiologist on several ocassions and both said that they were clear. I have contacted the factory to see if they recognized any on going problems with these particular hearing aids and they disclaimed any problems were occurring.I know that starkey makes a good product but I suspect that I am being stonewalled on these.I just received these back from repair last week and today they don’t work again.I am wondering whether anyone has experienced similar problems?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  28. Jerry
    14 Nov 2010, 4:59 pm

    I have Starkey Destiny hearing aids. They worked great until my free trial period was up then the problems began. Each aid has been to the shop for repairs 6 times. I wear both sides. Each time they replace the microphone and send them back. I have had them for 18 months. This last time I left the audioligists from picking up an aid I got back from the shop I made it 5 miles from the office ant the aid I had repaired two weeks earlier went hay wire. Starkey makes junk and I will never buy another Starkey hearing aid. I feel as if I wasted 4200.00 dollars. DON”T BUY STARKEY

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. Brian
    07 Dec 2010, 10:13 pm

    Starkey Zon5. Same problems – 4 times in to Starkey for repair on both. The left one has just died again, and guess what – 7 days out of warranty. There is a genuine problem with Starkey. Something has happened to that company

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. Angela
    20 Jan 2011, 1:47 pm

    I would like to know where Starkey Hearing Aid distributers are in my area… Massachusetts?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  31. David
    20 Jan 2011, 4:48 pm

    I don’t have a dog in this fight, as I teach about hearing aids, I do not dispense them, nor am I associated with any manufacturer or brand. But I think that somebody needs to shed some “light of truth” on some of these comments on this site. First, I see many comments about Zon, and Destiny aids; everybody needs to be aware that those models are anywhere from 2-4 years out of date. There are three complete lines of aids with four or five models in each that have come out since these older aids; correcting many of the problems that caused those aids to be redesigned rather quickly. Second, at least 80% of the problems that people have with their hearing aids are the result of the person putting the aid on them, not knowing what he is doing. The lowest technology unit in the world, in the hands of someone who knows how to dispense it, will do more than the highest technology aid in the hands of someone who does not. Third, it is a VERY rare patient who can get by with only one hearing aid. There was a study done a couple of years ago, that said that nearly 70% of patients did BETTER with no aids, than they did with one.
    Starkey is a well run and well respected company. They do more to aid the hard of hearing community than all of the other manufacturers combined. No company, nor product is perfect, but you can sure do far worse overall dealing with some of these other companies, than you will with Starkey.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
    • DAVID
      14 Jul 2011, 2:14 pm

      THANK EVERY WELL SAID, I’M IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING FITTED WITH A PAIR OF S-SERIES ON BOTH EARS

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    • terry jones
      03 Nov 2011, 6:15 am

      I would not try another company
      I am sick and tired of trying to get my aides to function without with out unacceptable back ground noise.I have had many follow up appointments and they still do not function properly.
      And this company have not had the manners to reply to me

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
      • Barry Bishop
        08 Jan 2012, 9:33 am

        Last August I lost my hearing at a Mesa AZ indoor shooting range! I needed to purchase 2 hearing aids! I am a member of NRA , as a member I was offered to buy hearing aids at a $600 discount to which I did!
        I bought the aids from Good Sound Audiology in Gilbert AZ. By buying through NRA , Good Sound Audiology shortened my warranty from 2 years to 3 months! I had problems with aids since day one, now, that I need maintenance on both as they no longer work, Good Sound wants to charge me $150 to look at aids !
        I also contacted STARKEY HEARING AIDS,they are no help, they do not stand behind their product ! Purchasing hearing aids could be a real scam as you have to rely on others and take their advise. So far, I am out $4800 and no working hearing aids! Know what you are buying and know the persons you are buying from!
        BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  32. Philip Hove
    31 Jan 2011, 10:36 am

    I purchased a pair of Starkey cic top of the line S series about 3 months ago and am very happy.

    Very small, comfortable and work great.

    My last pair, from a different manufacturer were not nearly as nice as these.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  33. Robert Kirby
    19 Feb 2011, 1:33 pm

    I have Starkey Series 9 BTE hearing aids and they have worked well since I bought them, but not great. After a year I have found that the hearing aids are as good as the Audiologist. There are many, so called professionals, who sell you hearing aids, but do not have the understanding of how to set them up properly. Therefore a bad experience. I got lucky and found an audiologist that has complete knowledge of the audio process. This girl has degrees in audio sound and how it should be. After spending an hour with this audiologist, not only do my hearing aids work well, they are incredible. I have found that the answer is with a “qualified” audiologist, not the product.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  34. Shaon
    11 Apr 2011, 10:43 pm

    Local dealer says I need at least the series 9 but they want me to get the 11 series. What are the cost? They say are running a special and giving me a 50% discount. I want to know if this is true.

    Also, how can I compare the differences between the hearing aids versus my actual hearing?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      23 Apr 2011, 8:20 pm

      The s9 vs 11 question- There are several models within the series 9 and 11 umbrella. The newest ones are Siq-9 and Siq-11. This answer is related to those products. The primary difference between the 9 and the 11 is the number of environments that the noise circuit can work within simultaneously. The 11 is clearly the more advanced product and if the cost is about $500 difference- it is probably in your best interest to do it, if you have lots of trouble in background noise and you lead a pretty active life. If you are more sedate or if the difference exceeds $500/UNIT-stay with the 9.

      As with any product, the dispenser should be willing to offer a trial period. There is absolutley no way to look at a spec sheet and know if the hearing aid is correct for you. You must wear it and give the dispenser a chance to customize it for you. It either does the job you want done or not. The fact that your friend loved his “WHATEVER HEARING AID” has no bearing on whether you will enjoy yours or not.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  35. hollandmovers
    15 Apr 2011, 11:25 am

    I have been wearing Starkey hearing aids for 32 years. Originally analog, they saved my life and my job. This is the 4th pair of Starkey hearing aids I have purchased, now wearing the Wi Series i110. They are amazing!! I can watch tv without the closed caption now since I can hear the sound through my hearing aids. Kudos to Starkey for all the work they do with poor children in 3rd world countries!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
    • Valerie
      23 Jan 2012, 3:51 pm

      I too have worn Starkey Hearing Aid’s for about 30 year’s. The last time I purchased was in 2006 and the Destiny were good but unfortunately I had trouble with them just falling out of my ear’s (in the canal type) and lost one this past summer. Are you still enjoying the Wi 110 and did you get the small or behind the ear?
      Hate spending too much money for something that last’s such a short period of time. They are also lifesaver’s for me and I am so grateful for them….just wish I knew which one would be good for me.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  36. Rohit
    20 Apr 2011, 12:12 am

    I was planning to buy a pair of Starkey S5 BTE hearing aids for my mother. Above comments are making me re-think!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  37. Beverly
    25 Apr 2011, 8:14 pm

    I was fitted with my Starkey CIC today. However, I feel that they stick out to far out of the canal. My sister also has them and hers sits lower in the canal. And you can barely see hers. I am very disappointed. Is there anything I can do about this?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      18 May 2011, 8:26 pm

      fitting a CIC deeper in the ear. =

      The hearing aid is made from a mold of your ear. That mold determines the size and shape of the aid. Ask your professional if the hearing aid can be made “less tall”. Remember, there needs to be enough room for the battery and microphone on the faceplate. Some ears are too narrow unless you come out of the ear a little bit. Look at the aid just behind the faceplate. If there is room to move the battery and microphone back and still have a flat plane- then the aid can be made less tall. If not- that is as small as it is going to get. You may wish to speak to your professional about an aid that goes further in the ear (like Starkey SoundLens), you may or may not have the ear or the loss for that aid. Just ask and your professional will guide you.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  38. Hearby
    25 May 2011, 9:39 pm

    I just got an exam and need aids for both ears. The Dr suggested I get Starkey S series 9′s. I am wondering about the price of $4400.00 and 12 month interest free. He explained all the technology but they still seems like alot of money. Is it unprofessional to try and get a lower price from him by threatening to go to another clinic or is that a fair price for them? I just don’t want to over pay.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      29 Jun 2011, 11:47 am

      The price quoted is about average for that product. Remember that a not insignificant portion of the price quoted is for professional services and for the “no Interest finance” program. If you pay the professional fees separately and pay cash, you can lower the initial number. Bottom line is that you will end up paying about that much one way or another. Remember the old adage about having your cake and eating it too. At some point or another, you need to cover the costs of services, the product and the finance costs. Rest assured that somebody is paying the interest on that year of “free” financing. If you expect this professional to still be there when you need help in the future and to provide that assistance at no charge; they have to make some money somewhere.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  39. Norma Reiman
    11 Jul 2011, 7:59 pm

    I would like to have my Starkey serviced (cleaned) locally. I live in Cupertino, CA. Campbell, Los Gatos, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale or any place close by will be helpful. I also would like to have my hearing checked, I believe it has changed since I brought my current hearing aids. Thank you.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  40. Marty Frank
    16 Aug 2011, 6:36 am

    Has anybody tried the new AMP which are advertised as hearing aids for those who don’t want a hearing aid? Are they effective?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  41. Sue
    25 Oct 2011, 8:15 pm

    My mother needs hearing aids and they recommended Starkey’s S series iQ 7. I have read all the above comments and no one has commented on this style. Are they any good or is the price too high for this brand???

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      12 Nov 2011, 3:23 pm

      The Starkey S IQ7 is the basic model in the S IQ line and has the entire line has been replaced by the X series. The main difference between the S IQ and the X is the Noise filtering (it is more powerful in the X) and the Spectral IQ feature (really helpful if you have a severe hearing loss [greater than 85 dB]). The S IQ is one of the finest products to come out for the hearing impaired; the X series just does it one better. Both of these products are head and shoulders above most any other product out there. You should expect to pay about $100 to $150 more per unit for the X series. Last year the average hearing aid in the USA sold for about $2000 after all the services were included.

      If you are paying significantly more than that figure, you need to make sure that you are getting above average features. When I say that, don’t just take the professionals word for it (ad copy is cheap) make sure you hear a difference between your old aid and the new one. Ask for a trial period (expect to pay for the professionals time and trouble if you return it) and confirm that it is working in your real world settings. Expect that the professional will have to make some minor adjustments to the unit during the first couple of weeks of wearing.

      If you are paying significantly less than that figure, you need to expect lower quality and less features. You also may wish to ask yourself why this professional can sell hearing aids so much less than everybody else in the marketplace. Don’t believe for a second that it is because he is the only honest guy in town. Every professional would lower his prices, if he could figure out how to stay around to service you at the lower price. I have never met someone who thought they were not paying too much for hearing aids. Professionals know that everybody wants cheaper prices and they are all doing everything they can to keep prices under control. If every store in town is selling steak at $3 a pound and one guy has it for $1.50 a pound; you might want to ask for the name of the horse that was the source of the “steak”.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  42. Jaime
    08 Nov 2011, 12:57 pm

    Everybody is complaining about the Starkey Series S-5 to S-11. I was fitted and purchased Starkey Series X70 with 45 days trial. I have had worn different brands namely, Miracle Aid, Beltone, Siemens and Phonak. Comparatively, Siemens had less problems. I need more power, effective and durable CIC hearing aid that my audiology doctor recommended Starkey Series X70.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Ali
      24 Dec 2011, 3:38 am

      How is your starkey x70 series working?tell us your experience plzz as I was recommended too by my doctor.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  43. prashanth venkataswamy
    28 Nov 2011, 11:22 pm

    Any body can tell about new model Ignite 20 and Ignite 30 from Starkey Co.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      01 Dec 2011, 7:39 pm

      The Ignite is the new economy hearing aid from Starkey that was introduced with the latest X series hearing aid line. It has older (basically last years) technology and fewer features than the newer levels of hearing aids. It is still a good value, but it would be a mistake to compare it to the current crop of Starkey mainstream hearing aids. The difference between the 20 and 30, is the number of bands and channels in the instrument. The more complicated your loss, the more you can utilize the increased number of bands and channels. The Ignite (from our experience) can hold its’ own with most of the other companies mainline products. Starkey claims that they now have the number one and number two best noise reduction circuits on the market today. The Ignite uses the #2 noise reduction circuit.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  44. Nawaf
    07 Dec 2011, 8:49 am

    May I know what is the difference between S series 9 CIC and X series 90 CIC? Also, how much do they cost for right side only? Finally, which of them is better?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      12 Dec 2011, 11:22 am

      A generation behind the s iq). Starkey has done an incredible job of improving feedback reduction, background noise reduction and the understanding of speech in noise with these aids. The s began the journey and was revolutionary for its’ time, but most every major company (oticon, phonak, etc) has caught up to that level of technology by now. The s iq was Starkeys first unit that goes beyond the technology levels of the other guys. The x trumps the siq. If you can afford the difference in cost- i would say that the x is the best deal. If you want something better than the rest, but not as good as it gets- get the siq. If you want a unit equal to the best of the rest- get the s.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Sally
        17 Apr 2012, 3:49 pm

        I have a Starkey iq11 and have had it less than a year and its been repaired(?) twice and is going in for the same problems for a 3rd time. I have sever loss and this aid works wonderfully for me when it works. I wish we could lemon law it and get an aid that works for more than a few weeks with out problems. I wonder if anyone else is having the same problrms.

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • ed gullett
      31 Jan 2012, 10:12 am

      x series is wireless and the s series is not…

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  45. Joe Minyard
    12 Dec 2011, 9:50 am

    I have a pair of Starkey Model SA TDE4 hearing aids that I bought about 3 years ago. I love them, WHEN THEY WORK! Both of them have been sent back to the factory for repair several times, at a cost of $180 each time! The left one is bad right now. I also have the problem with feedback on the phone. Seems I remember that these were called the “Destiny” series, but not sure. The audiologist admits that they are prone to fail! As I said, I am very happy with the performance when they are working.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  46. Darve
    18 Dec 2011, 6:06 pm

    I answered a Starkey Ascent promo on the Soundlens 16 channel RIC type (black in color). I had been a Starkey CIC wearer for some years.

    After exam, the AuD., recommended the BTE type as being better, less trouble, better life. Okay, so far so good. So, I am preparing for a 30-day trial.

    Here’s my question: Why would they propose to charge me the same price for the stock BTE as the RIC/CIC type when there is obviously no ear molds, custom fit, and the hassle in fitting? I almost feel like there was a “bait and switch” going on; I even asked and there was no real reply beyond the cost of technology. Both supposedly feature the very latest features. So, is the BTE mostly better off for them, I.e., more profitable? Should I be buying a set of new BTE hearing aids for less than the other type, and if so, is there an approximate % difference I should expect? All in it seems price is about $5600.

    Suggestions or response would be greatly appreciated.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Pat
      22 Dec 2011, 7:27 am

      I did the same thing about five months ago. Ear molds and the regular cones. The cone type is most comfortable for me, but it seems I am paying for the molds also, but they won’t let you have them both. Starkey also is a scam when you need them repaired. I was playing with my grandson last week outside, and my aid fell out and one of us stepped on it. Still in one piece, but would not work. Took it in and a couple days later the diagnosis was $2500 for a complete new hearing aid. They said they would pay 80% and me 20%. I could see where a whole hearing was needed. I cannot have the hearing aid until I give them the $500. I wanted to make payments of $100 dollars, and they said no. I cannot get them for at least another month. They are the best aids I have had out of four other brands. I don’t know how to contact the main office to complain. I don’t know where they are located.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
      • Darve
        30 Dec 2011, 4:47 pm

        That is a bummer, and if you have recently purchased the Starkey hearing aid, my experience is that they should be willing to fix one time at no charge under their insurance program (3 years which is supposed to include one free loss). If you wish to complain direct to Starkey (and they seem to make that somewhat difficult), then here is an address of one of their plants where they make the hearing aids:

        Starkey Labs
        6700 Washington Avenue, South
        Eden Prairie, MN 55344

        I just paid for an overhaul on a CIC type Starkey that was purchased originally in 2005 – they modified and updated, but left a sharp edge, so am having problems. I am in process of an upgrade to their 16 channel type – will see how this goes. Good luck.

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • ed gullett
      31 Jan 2012, 10:02 am

      the bte is the same price as a cic because there is more flexability in the programming.in a bte we can change the power if needed from 40db to 72db and in between.with a cic if more power is needed we r limited by the size of the device. i hope this will answer you questions…

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  47. Richard Basham
    21 Dec 2011, 12:18 am

    I agree with you Roberta Cohan.My husband spend $5,100.00 on one hearing aid alone not 2 but one. He just bought the hearing aid last year and ever since he has been having a lot of problem.Every three months it just cut out and every three months we sended back to be fix.So this time my husband went on monday just gone to see his audiology DR. and told her this cant go on like this.And the respond from his DR. was their is a new hearing aid coming soon maybe this will help and it will cost him $5,745.00 what a joke.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  48. Barry Bishop
    08 Jan 2012, 9:48 am

    A cell phone can be purchased for less than $100 , why is a hearing aid so expensive?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  49. Ruth
    24 Jan 2012, 11:14 pm

    With computers,tv sets,cell phones and tablets, laptops and IPads the prices are reasonable. Why are hearing aids so expensive? They use the same technology and are much smaller. It doesn’t make sense to me.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Rich
      27 Mar 2012, 11:33 am

      Great question about cost of hearing aids vrs the other electronics…..did you every get an answer that was worth anything?

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  50. Ruth
    31 Mar 2012, 1:54 pm

    No answers from anyone. Maybe I should go to consumer guy at the Hartford Courant?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  51. Mark Rogers
    11 May 2012, 5:08 pm

    I have purchased the Starkey x series and they are more powerful hearing aids than my previous Widex. However beware that they have a phone application which in my case needed to be turned off. Ever time I placed a phone against my ear the hearing aid shut down until I removed the phone. Beside this the x series has great features.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  52. Lorrie Pritchard
    23 May 2012, 7:02 pm

    I have a Starkey hearing aid that has stopped functioning. The My Life Hearing store I bought it from is no longer in business and I can’t find another locally. Do you know if I can send it directly to Starkey to have it looked at.

    Thank you

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • M
      11 Jul 2013, 8:02 am

      I had the same experience as you, so I contacted Starkey via email through their website. A Starkey rep sent me the contact info for two service providers in my zip code area the very next day.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  53. Rad
    25 Sep 2012, 7:22 am

    I have the Starkey 300 series hearing aids and they have proven to be the best hearing aids I have had to date. What has not been up to par however, is the SurfLink device that was acquired separately. This device was touted by my audiologist to be the best thing going for a business professional – streaming audio with a directional microphone, bluetooth enabled so I can talk on my cellphone over my hearing aids or listen to media which is streamed directly to my hearing aids…

    I am on the second such device in three weeks and still the sound quality is not what it should be. Starkey’s techs make excuses for it and in one case have even claimed to have upgraded my firmware – tell me, why does a brand new unit sent straight from the factory need a firmware update? When you customized it, didn’t you make sure it had the latest firmware? Apparently not because that’s what Starkey told me they did. But did they? I can’t tell because the unit they sent back was a different one. While the distortion is not as bad as the first unit, it’s still there along with a constant hiss coming through the hearing aids. Starkey’s techs claim that’s normal and due to the codecs involved but even my cell phone bluetooth headset works better!

    Would I recommend Starkey’s hearing aids? Yes, at least the 300 series I am familiar with. Would I recommend the SurfLink device? NOPE. Not until Starkey gets the bugs out and brings the sound quality up to where it should be instead of making excuses. This device is supposed to be cutting edge technology. Well Starkey… it’s NOT!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  54. Karen
    08 Jun 2013, 6:12 pm

    I have tinnitus and have been told that the Starkey Xino hearing aid will be my saving grace. I have a slight hearing loss and question whether I need a hearing aid. Has anyone tried the Xino, and if so, have you found any tinnitus relief?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  55. Dennis
    13 Jun 2013, 7:55 pm

    I have Sparkys in the canal model#SNLVT10. Have a app on my T2 which works great for turning up and down etc. I have severe tinnitus for the past five years and the HA’s are only about 1 yr old. Cost $7500 and I love them. The only problem is when I have taken them out to shower or swim and when putting them back in there is no air flow and I end up getting a fungus really bad in one or the other ear. So I have been taking them out throughout the day, that has help but my tinnitus goes up quite loud then. Was wondering if anybody else has had this problem and what have they done to help this issue. Thx, Dennis

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • admin
      14 Oct 2013, 9:57 am

      “SPANKYS” Canal model-
      I think you mean “STARKEY”, if not, this answer might seem a little odd. You are correct to remove the aids from your ears until they are dry. Only the newer Starkey RIC models will handle the moisture if you put them in without drying your ears. The best approach is to dry your ears out quickly after you shower or swim. I like to take a facial tissue and twist it up tightly and then pull the resulting “log” in half. What I end up with is a soft screw of tissue with “fuzzies” on the end. I then screw that down into my ear canal gently to wick away as much water as possible. I then lightly swap my ear with another facial tissue that I have touched to a mixture of 1/3 Hydrogen Peroxide, 1/3 MEDICAL GRADE rubbing alcohol and white vinegar. That way, I get my ears fairly dry and then the solution will impede most any ear buggies.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  56. harry
    25 Jun 2013, 8:04 am

    Are the Starkey hearing aids provided by the VA different or of inferior quality than the commercial versions

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      14 Oct 2013, 10:00 am

      The VA is a government agency and as such they go through a lengthy bidding process before the vets ever see the aids. Often, that means that some of the models that may be available from the VA, may not be the most current model numbers. It has been my observation that the VA uses a good quality product in their program. That product may just not have all the newest “bells and whistles” that are constantly coming out from the hearing aid manufacturers.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Bud
        30 Oct 2013, 12:32 pm

        I received my Starkey fearing aids thru the VA two years ago at no cost and found them to be excellent fit and reception. Had one unit stop working after I dropped it one year later and returned to the VA for repairs. Got it back 3 weeks later at no cost to me They may not be the “top of the line” product but they satisfy me.

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  57. CE Barnett
    06 Aug 2013, 5:25 pm

    anyone tried the ignite model from Starkey? the in canal model. Thinking of getting a pair any feedback on them

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Sal
      29 Oct 2013, 1:01 pm

      Hi CE Barnett,

      In regards to your question, my soon to be 87 year old mom, who has 25% hearing in both ears, is on a 30 Day Trial with the ignite 30, as I purchased every accessory for them as well.

      There is an LCD Surflink remote which not only adjusts the volume of the hearing aids either singularly or bilaterally yet you can also stream any Bluetooth device through them as well.

      There is also an available Surflink Media transmitter, which can be hooked up to a TV or any audio device MP3 player and etc., which you can stream either Bluetooth or direct cable hookup to the hearing aids as well, so as you can see it does in fact come rich with features.

      For my mom a lot of this new technology is truly ridiculous for her, especially factoring in her age, yet my main concern and reason for the trial purchase was to find out if they are in fact “significantly” better then her Destiny 1600′s CIC, and taken in great account her great hearing loss, she unfortunately tells me NO!

      At this point it looks like the best decision as far as my mom situation is concerned is to just get her 1600′s repaired as just the casing cracked on one and the battery door broke on the other.

      I hope this helped somewhat.
      Best Regards,
      Sal D.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  58. Connie
    04 Oct 2013, 4:26 pm

    My dad purchased Starkey Hearing Aids and have had so many problems. Back ground noice was so bad and he kept telling them of this problem but they never fixed it. They were always asking for more money. Not very good customer service.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  59. Jack
    27 Oct 2013, 7:55 am

    Purchased 2 Starkey SA CQ9S ITE hearing aids in May 2010. Worst investment I have ever made! Got them from a local reputable audiologist and hearing aid specialist. When they are working, they are fine; however, keeping them working is the biggest problem and expense. They did fairly well until around the time the warranty was due to expire and have been nothing but trouble ever since. They quit working and was told each time it was either the mic or receiver. Have had to send them in for repair at least 6 times and have one that is not working now. Each out of warranty repair was a minimum of $650, now increased to $675 flat fee. Not willing to pay another fee for repair on this pair of “lemons”. I will start looking for another brand to replace them with. Anyone have any suggestions for a reliable brand? I need to find something else before the other one stops working.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      29 Oct 2013, 12:58 pm

      Something is wrong with this story. They should have been under warranty for at least a year if not two and repairs for 6 months and repairs should be cheaper than that.
      Mics and receivers usually go out because they are dirty most times they can be cleaned in office and made to work.

      Sounds like the guy you are dealing with a not very good and you may want to try someone else in town… Otacon, Phonak and Starkey are as good as it gets. I would check with another fitter or change fitters, before I threw a quality company under the bus for something that may not be their fault.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  60. Pat
    30 Oct 2013, 3:04 pm

    We purchased a set of Starkey RIC hearing aids for my husband to the tune of $3000.00 and it was the WORST investment we have ever made! He had to take them back every couple of months due to the microphone failing. We complained constantly to the Audiologist that these hearing aids were NOT worth the money and requested a refund. She refused. She sent them back to Starkey twice for repair, however, they were NEVER right! Once the warranty ran out, the hearing aids failed again. They are now packed away in their container and my husband is back to square one…
    My mom wears the ITE hearing aids, paid $800.00 for her set (NOT STARKEY) and they have worked beautiful ever since. My mom and husband purchased their hearing aids from the same audiologist around the same time. Save yourself aggravation, lot of money and time and DO NOT buy Starkey hearing aids!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  61. myra ashbrook
    07 Nov 2013, 6:09 pm

    I went yesterday to pick up my hearing aid. from the center. I believe it is a RIC Receiver-In-Canal. I am wondering why I am now unable to hear on the phone properly. It is actually horrible. Cannot understand the TV. I have been reading about the voice IQ2 X Series. and also the WI series.. I asked my seller if maybe Starkey handle headsets to help me to hear over the phone. He says because my phone is wireless he did not think so, I use a cordless Uniden, hearing aid compatable home phone. I do not use cell phones. I also have Straight Talk wireless phone service. Once again he says not good with the hearing aid. What happened to the modern technology? I would also like to get the price of the voiceIQ2 X series and the WI Series. The hearing aid I got yesterday is fairly decent, but no phone conversations nor hearing the TV. I am unable to hear from the left ear at all, but am wearing a hearing aid in the right ear. I have very little hearing. Am I being led in the right direction by my seller? This is why I would like pricing for the other 2 hearing aids. I would love to hear better. If you have a suggestion as far as the head set I would appreciate that. With this hearing aid I have there is a lot of screeching over the phone.Very little sound from the caller. Thanks for reading this. MYRA

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Hearing Aid Expert
      17 Nov 2013, 4:42 pm

      That hearing aid has telephone settings that can and (it sounds like) need to be adjusted. There are two groups of possible phone setups on that model. One is T Coil ( mostly for land line phones- cordless and cell phones do not have enough magnetic output). The other setting- “Telephone” – is used for phones with weak or no magnetic leakage. The smaller and lighter the phone, the poorer it will work with traditional T Coils. You professional should be able to address the problem in a matter of seconds.Also the feedback elimination needs to be set or at least adjusted. It is rare to get a “screech” on this model under normal usage.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  62. rojoends
    17 Dec 2013, 1:10 am

    I purchased a pair of Starkey Ignite hearing aids. My right one has bent sent in to be fixed three times in a year. The first time it malfunctioned one day after the warranty expired. After getting it back it still wasn’t fixed. It kept making the noise that it makes when you change the volume,but it does it all by itself without me touching the volume control. The second time I had it fixed they said they replaced the microphone. The third time they said they replaced the microphone, wires, and tubes. Now it is starting to make the same sounds again that it makes when changing the volume but is doing it all by itself. At least I have till March before this warranty expires, but how inconvenient this is!!!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  63. David Lyle
    30 Dec 2013, 7:30 am

    I require information on how to use behind the ear hearing aids is there an instruction manual? thank you David Lyle

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  64. Bob
    06 Jan 2014, 1:46 pm

    I’ve been using a pair of Xino hearing aids for about a year now. I did have a problem with static in one of them and my audiologist had it replaced and gave me a “loaner” to use while I was waiting for the new one. Overall, I’m really happy with them. They are the first pair I’ve owned so I have nothing to compare them to but I can hear so much better and I really like the different settings for crowds, music, etc. My audiologist really took the time over several visits to adjust my settings for me and other than the one defective unit, they have worked perfectly. They are very comfortable and the batteries usually last about 4-5 days. My only concern is how long they will last. They are expensive and I’m hoping to get several more years out of them. Time will tell.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -2 (from 4 votes)
  65. C.j.WAKEFFIELD
    06 Nov 2014, 8:33 am

    If you are thinking of buying Hearing Aids on no account choose Starkey as mine have been a complete waste of money.
    Have gone back to my National Health Aids as they are far and away more superior plus less costly.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  66. Annie
    16 Nov 2014, 7:02 pm

    Am looking for feedback on Starkey CIC hearing aides. Currently have Phonak CIC and struggle to hear conversation most times and only hear about 50% of the monologue on TV. Have been back to audiologist monthly since getting these in Feb., 2014. Just can’ get the right adjustment. Wondering if Starkey CIC might have a most understandable delivery system. Don’t get me wrong, I can hear — I just can’t understand the words for the most part. Sounds like jibberish. Already have a lot of money invested in aides — started out with Otocon (3 different puchases — Avada always told me this “one” was it and I would be wise to upgrade. Then tried Lyric — too frequent battery failures on that one. Now with Phonak and still struggling. I’m beginning to feel like a hearing aid junkie!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)